Do you know me?

Dear Ben,

I’m flattered that you wanted to talk to me about a job offer, and I’m sorry I wasn’t able to talk longer. Here’s a written response that I hope you will appreciate.

Five years ago, I applied for a Java offer by writing to Miss J. from your recruiting firm. The process was not successful, and I accepted an other offer.

Few months later, Miss J. asked if I can refer someone for an Asp.net developer.

Two years later, Miss J. talks with me on the phone. I explain that I am interested in Java development, not .NET. I am not open to new job opportunities at the time.

Nearly a year later, I got a generic job offer from Mr. M. My response asked to be removed from your firm’s mailiing-list.

Last year, I got an invite to join Miss. D. on LinkedIn with a generic message, which I ignored.

Today, a person named Ben calls me during the day, as if I didn’t have a full-time job.

Who are you? Who’s my contact at your firm? Who was Mr. M? Why did Miss. D.? Where’s Miss J.? Why would I want to talk to you now?

Do you know me at all? Did I pop in your search results because I had « Java » in my file? Has someone referred you to me? Have you researched me on the internet, before telling me about that great offer I should not ignore? I have a blog, a Google+ profile, a Facebook profile, Twitter & Diaspora accounts, a LinkedIn profile, a Stack Overflow profile with questions I asked and answered, a GitHub profile with public contributions on stuff that I find exciting, and even Meetup.com account and you can also learn about me by browsing my photos on my Flickr account. There are 38,300 results if you Google me, and there are very few people with the same name. You already know all this, right?
By now, you know what you should do. Master your craft. Once you have enough reasons to believe I may want to talk to you, go ahead introduce yourself, and tell me something exciting. Until then, I’m having a good time with my life, and I hope you do as well.
Regards,
Nicolas (it spells with no « h »)
One Comment on “Do you know me?”


Laisser un commentaire

